230.265 Kentucky Equine Drug Research Council.

- (1) (a) There is hereby created a panel, to be known as the Kentucky Equine Drug Research Council, to advise the corporation on the conduct of equine drug research and testing commissioned by the Kentucky Horse Racing and Gaming Corporation.
- (b) The council shall consist of nine (9) members appointed by the Governor. It is recommended that the Governor appoint one (1) person from each of the following groups, organizations, or professions:
 - 1. A veterinarian, selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the Kentucky Association of Equine Veterinarians: **Dr. James Morehead, DVM**;
 - 2. A horseman, selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the Kentucky division of the Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association: **Dr. Mark Cheney**, **DVM**:
 - 3. A pharmacologist, selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the University of Kentucky: **Dr. Michael Kilgore, Ph.D.**;
 - 4. A Thoroughbred breeder, selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders, Inc.: **Dr. Johnny Mac Smith, DVM**;
 - 5. A legislator, selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the Legislative Research Commission: **VACANT** (*previously Adam Koenig*);
 - 6. A representative of a licensed racing association, chosen by the Governor: **Mike Ziegler**;
 - 7. A member of the harness racing industry, selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the chairman of the Kentucky Horse Racing and Gaming Corporation: **VACANT**;
 - 8. A member selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the Kentucky Harness Horsemen's Association: **Dr. Andy Roberts, DVM**;
 - 9. A member of the Kentucky Horse Racing and Gaming Corporation, selected from a list of three (3) submitted by the chairman of the Kentucky Horse Racing and Gaming Corporation, to serve as chairman: **VACANT** (*previously Dr. Naveed Chowhan, MD*).
- (c) The council shall meet at the call of the chairman, a majority of the council, or at the request of the corporation. Members shall serve at the pleasure of their respective sponsoring organizations and shall receive no compensation for serving.